History / 1726

mapa de las murallas de Pamplona entre 1.726 Baluarte de Labrit Fortín de San Bartolomé Revellín y puerta de la Tejería Baluarte y Caballero de la Reina Revellín y puerta de San Nicolás Fuerte del Príncipe Luneta delate del Revellín Campo atrincherado Revellín de Santa Teresa Baluarte de San Antón Revellín de Santa Lucía Baluarte y Caballero del Real Revellín de Santa Clara Contraguardia de Santa Clara Baluarte de Santa María Revellín de Santa Isabel Contraguardia de Santa Isabel Baluarte de Santiago Revellín de Santa Ana Baluarte y Caballero de la Victoria Revellín y puerta de la Taconera Baluarte de la Taconera Revellín de San Roque Baluarte de Gonzaga(alto y bajo) Contraguardia de Gonzaga Fortín de San Roque Plataforma de Palacio Baluarte del Abrevador Baluarte bajo de Nª Sª del Pilar Revellín de los Reyes Baluarte del Redín Baluarte bajo de Nª Sª de Guadalupe Baluarte provisional de tierra Baluarte bajo del Labrit

The year 1726 is an extremely important milestone in the history of Pamplona: the engineer Jorge Próspero de Verboom will deliver a general project for the Citadel and for the Plaza (the city’s enclosure) which will be continued throughout the 18th century. 

Verboom, one of Vauban’s disciples (the French engineer who took the bastioned fortification of the 17th century to its utmost perfection), creates a double enclosure of fortifications in the most exposed parts using advanced techniques that could be defended from the main enclosure and mutually flanked. His aim: to delay the work of the besieger. With his project, he also achieves a balance between the strategic importance of the fortress, the financial means available to those who had it at their disposal and the garrison needed to defend it.

1714. The creation of the Royal Academy of the Spanish Language is approved. 
1724. Louis I is proclaimed King. He dies of smallpox six months later.

1721. Spain, France and the United Kingdom constitute the second Triple Alliance.