History / 1324 – 1423

mapa de las murallas de Pamplona entre 1.360 1.423 Torre sobre el Molino Puerta de la Fuente Vieja Puerta de la Tejería Monasterio de Santiago Castillo Iglesia de San Nicolás Puerta de San Nicolás Torre Redonda Puerta del Mercado o de la Zapatería Torre de María Delgada Puerta de la Belena Puerta de las Salinerías Puerta del Chapitel Torre de los Triperos Torre Mirable Puerta de San Llorente Puerta de Santa Engracia Torre de la Teyllera Postigo de las Carnicerías Torre de la Rocha Torre de la Galea Torre redonda del Burgo Puerta de la Belena Puerta del Chapitel Palacio Real o de San Pedro Portal del Abrevador Torre de la Tesorería Postigo de los Canónigos Portal del Rio Burgo de la Navarrería Burgo de San Cernin Burgo de San Nicolás Fosal de los Judíos

In 1324, Carlos el Calvo (Charles the Bald) grants a resettlement charter to promote the reconstruction of Navarrería, which had been destroyed in the civil war of 1276. In the course of this war, a French army, assisting the burghs of San Cernin and San Nicolás, wrecks the city of La Navarrería, which had risen against Queen Doña Juana. Following this conflict, during which the original nucleus of the Gothic Pamplona is destroyed, only the cathedral remains standing.

Pamplona therefore becomes divided into three nuclei following the resettlement charter, each with their respective walls:

The city of La Navarrería: This is the oldest enclave of Pamplona.

Parish churches: the cathedral, where the kings were crowned.

Population: peasants from Navarre. It also contains the Jewish quarter.

The burgh of San Cernin: This emerges with the Pilgrims’ Route to Santiago.

Parish churches: San Saturnino (for the Frankish population of the neighbourhood, tradesmen, moneychangers, etc. – all of them townspeople) and in the Puebla Nueva, the peasants, whose parish church is San Lorenzo.

Population: Franks, merchants and professionals.

The settlement of San Nicolás: This emerges with the Pilgrims’ Route to Santiago.

Parish church: San Nicolás.

Population: Franks and Navarrese.

In 1423, with the Privilege of the Union, Charles III the Noble will bring the three burghs together into a single jurisdiction: the City Council, in its current location. This will entail the end of internal armed conflicts and the birth of Pamplona as a unified city.


1337. Outbreak of the Hundred Years’ War, which will pitch France and England against each other until 1453. 1348.The Black Death kills one third of the European population.